Home » London Theatre News » Evening Standard Awards 2012

Evening Standard Awards 2012

London Theatre MasksThe winners are announced of the 2012 Evening Standard Theatre Awards, at the Awards Ceremony with Dame Judi Dench, Lolita Chakrabarti, Nicholas Hytner and Danny Boyle among those collecting awards at the Savoy Hotel.

Dame Judi Dench was honoured with the Moscow Art Theatre’s Golden Seagull award for her contribution to world theatre, while Boyle was recognised for orchestrating the London 2012 Olympics Opening ceremony with the Beyond Theatre award, which was presented by gold medal-winning cyclist Victoria Pendleton.

RESULTS including nominations:

Best Play
WINNER: Constellations by Nick Payne (Royal Court Upstairs)
Love and Information by Caryl Churchill (Royal Court Downstairs)
This House by James Graham (National’s Cottesloe)

Best Director
Carrie Cracknell for A Doll’s House (Young Vic)
WINNER: Nicholas Hytner for Timon of Athens (National’s Olivier)
James Macdonald for Love and Information (Royal Court Downstairs)
Ian Rickson for Hamlet (Young Vic)

Best Actor
WINNER: Simon Russell Beale, Collaborators (National’s Cottesloe)
Charles Edwards, The King’s Speech (Wyndham’s) and This House (National’s Cottesloe)
Adrian Lester, Red Velvet (Tricycle Theatre)
Luke Treadaway, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, (National Theatre’s Cottesloe)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress
Eileen Atkins, All That Fall (Jermyn Street)
Cate Blanchett, Big and Small (Sydney Theatre Company for Barbican)
Laurie Metcalf, Long Day’s Journey Into Night (Apollo)
WINNER: Hattie Morahan, A Doll’s House (Young Vic)

Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical
Singin’ In the Rain (Chichester Festival and Palace Theatre)
Swallows and Amazons (A Bristol Old Vic production presented by the National Theatre in association with The Children’s Touring Partnership at the Vaudeville Theatre)
Sweeney Todd (Chichester Festival and Adelphi)

Best Design
Miriam Buether, Wild Swans (A Young Vic/American Repertory Theatre/Actors Touring Company co-production)
WINNER: Soutra Gilmour, Inadmissible Evidence (Donmar Warehouse) and Antigone (National’s Olivier)
Ian MacNeil, A Doll’s House (Young Vic)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
WINNER: Lolita Chakrabarti, Red Velvet (Tricycle)
John Hodge, Collaborators (National’s Cottesloe)
Tom Wells, The Kitchen Sink (Bush)

The Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer
Denise Gough, Our New Girl (Bush) and Desire Under the Elms (Lyric Hammersmith)
Abby Rakic-Platt, Vera Vera Vera (Royal Court Upstairs and Theatre Local Peckham)
WINNER: Matthew Tennyson, Making Noise Quietly (Donmar Warehouse)

Lebedev special award – Nicholas Hytner – For his dynamic directorship of the National Theatre
Editor’s award – David Hare – For his contribution to theatre
Beyond theatre – Danny Boyle and his team – For the Opening Ceremony of the London 2012 Olympics
Burberry award for emerging director – Simon Godwin
Moscow Art Theatre’s Golden Seagull – Judi Dench

Sunday 25th November 2012


  • Neil Cheesman

    First becoming involved in an online theatre business in 2005 and launching londontheatre1.com in September 2013. Neil writes reviews and news articles, and has interviewed over 150 actors and actresses from the West End, Broadway, film, television, and theatre. Follow Neil on Twitter @LondonTheatre1

    View all posts
Scroll to Top