Home » London Theatre News » Janie Dee releases her debut album – Janie Dee at the BBC

Janie Dee releases her debut album – Janie Dee at the BBC

Janie Dee at the BBC - Album CoverAuburn Jam Records are delighted to be releasing the debut album of award-winning actress, singer and musical theatre performer Janie Dee on 2nd October 2017.

The album was recorded at the legendary BBC Maida Vale Studios, where Janie has recorded many times throughout her career for BBC productions including The Gay Divorce with Tim Flavin, Carousel with Mandy Patinkin, Finian’s Rainbow with Milo O’Shea, Friday Night Is Music Night, and with the great Guy Barker and the BBC Symphony Orchestra for his composition That Obscure Hurt.

The record features thirteen songs from Janie’s own witty and sophisticated cabarets which she has performed at leading venues including Crazy Coqs, The Hippodrome, The Pheasantry, the St James Studio and the ‘Divas at the Donmar’ season. The album embraces musical theatre songs by Kander and Ebb, pop classics by Burt Bacharach and Hal David, Stevie Wonder and Keane, as well as comic songs by Spike Milligan and Sir Alan Ayckbourn.

Janie will be celebrating the release with three evenings of the Janie Dee at the BBC: Album Launch from 2nd-4th October 7pm in the intimate surroundings of the Crazy Coqs, Live at Zédel, featuring a selection of songs from the new album and welcoming some surprise guests to the stage at certain performances. Janie will also be performing a special late-night cabaret on 3rd and 4th October at 9.15pm, entitled Off The Record.

Janie says of the album: “After performing my cabaret Janie Dee and the Gentlemen at The Pheasantry, several members of the audience came up and asked me if they could get my CD, so I decided I had to try and record some of my favourite pieces! Whilst rehearsing Anthony and Cleopatra at the BBC Maida Vale Studios (with the BBC Symphony Orchestra) I realised how much I love these studios and had recorded many performances there over the years. It is the perfect ‘live’ acoustic and atmosphere with ghosts of the greats from all spheres of the music world. I have been a dancer, singer and actress for almost 40 years and this is my first CD! I hope you enjoy the songs.

Having recently returned to the UK following a critically acclaimed Broadway run playing the title role in Linda by Penelope Skinner at Manhattan Theatre Club, NYC (for which she was nominated for an Outer Critics Circle Award for Outstanding Actress in a Play), Janie is currently starring as Phyllis Rogers Stone in Stephen Sondheim’s Follies at the National Theatre London, opposite Imelda Staunton, Philip Quast, Peter Forbes, Tracie Bennett and Dame Josephine Barstow.

Where to buy the album:
Janie Dee at the BBC is produced by Joe Davison of Auburn Jam Music and will be available for download via all major online retailers including iTunes, AmazonMP3 and GooglePlay from October 2nd. Physical CD copies can be ordered for worldwide delivery from the Auburn Jam Records webshop, and will also be available to purchase at Janie’s launch gigs and for a limited time at the National Theatre Bookshop.

Album Tracklist:
1. Yes (from ‘70 Girls 70’ – Kander & Ebb)
2. One Note Samba (Antonio Carlos Jobim & Newton Mendonça)
3. There Goes The Ballgame (from ‘And The World Goes ‘Round – Kander & Ebb)
4. One Of The Boys (from ‘Woman of the Year’ – Kander & Ebb)
5. Copytype (Alan Ayckbourn & Paul Todd)
6. Can You Hear Me, God? (Spike Milligan & Cathy Shostak)
7. Cigarette Scientist (Spike Milligan & Cathy Shostak)
8. Somewhere Only We Know (Keane)
9. Jardin D’Hiver (Benjamin Biolay & Keren Zeidel)
10. Isn’t She Lovely (Stevie Wonder)
11. Alfie (Burt Bacharach & Hal David)
12. Never Let Me Go (Raymond B. Evans & Jay Livingston)
13. Our Love Is Here To Stay (George & Ira Gershwin)

Launch Gig Booking Details:
Tickets to the album launch gigs and late-night cabarets on 2nd-4th October 2017 can be booked via the Live At Zédel
website or by calling 020 7734 4888.
Tickets: £25 per performance (or £40 for both Album Launch and Off The Record shows on the same evening)
Crazy Coqs, Live at Brasserie Zédel, 20 Sherwood Street, London W1F 7ED


Scroll to Top