Home » London Theatre News » Reduced Shakespeare Company UK tour of new show

Reduced Shakespeare Company UK tour of new show

James Seabright Reduced Shakespeare Edfringe
James Seabright Reduced Shakespeare Edfringe

Following its world premiere season at the Edinburgh Festival and a run at the renowned Folger Shakespeare Library, the brand new show from the Reduced Shakespeare Company embarks on its debut UK tour of 50 venues plus a week at Wilton’s Music Hall in London.

Acclaimed stars of the West End stage, the Reduced Shakespeare Company, are back with another barnstormingly irreverent and breathtakingly hilarious celebration of our cultural heritage – as seen through the eyes of three Americans wearing trainers. In a better-late-than-never nod to the Bard’s 400th anniversary, the bad boys of abridgement present this ‘new’ play by the man himself, as discovered in a Leicester car park.

Since its pass-the-hat origins in 1981, the Reduced Shakespeare Company has created ten world-renowned stage shows, two television specials, several failed TV pilots, and numerous radio pieces, all of which have been performed, seen, and heard the world over. The company’s itinerary has included stops in the West End, off-Broadway, at the White House, the Kennedy Center, Lincoln Center, London’s West End, Seattle Repertory Theatre, American Repertory Theatre and Montreal’s famed Just For Laughs Festival, as well as performances in Israel, Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Japan, Malta, Singapore and Bermuda, plus countless civic and university venues throughout the USA, the UK, and Europe.

William Shakespeare’s Long Lost First Play (abridged) 2017 tour dates

1 & 2 Feb Lighthouse Poole 01202 28 00 00 www.lighthousepoole.co.uk
3 Feb Norden Farm Maidenhead 01628 788997 www.nordenfarm.org
4 Feb Playhouse Norwich 01603 598598 www.norwichplayhouse.co.uk
7 Feb Guildhall Preston 01772 80 44 44 www.prestonguildhall.com
8 Feb Pomegranate Chesterfield 01246 345 222 chesterfieldtheatres.co.uk
9 Feb Playhouse Nottingham 0115 941 9419 nottinghamplayhouse.co.uk
10 Feb Princess Somerset 01278 784464 www.theprincesstheatre.co.uk
11 Feb The Theatre Chipping Norton 01608 642350 www.chippingnortontheatre.com
12 Feb Town Hall Cheltenham 0844 576 2210 cheltenhamtownhall.org.uk
14 and 15 Feb Rep Birmingham 0121 236 4455 birmingham-rep.co.uk
16 Feb Theatre Royal Bury St Edmunds 01284 769505 www.theatreroyal.org
17 Feb Mercury Colchester 01206 573948 www.mercurytheatre.co.uk
18 Feb PAC Lincoln 01522 837600 www.lpac.co.uk
23 – 25 Feb Curve Leicester 0116 242 3595 www.curveonline.co.uk
2 Mar Woodville Gravesend 08442 439 480 www.woodville.co.uk
3 Mar Wyvern Theatre Swindon 01793 524 481 swindontheatres.co.uk
4 Mar Ropetackle Shoreham 01273 464440 ropetacklecentre.co.uk
8 Mar The Lights Andover 01264 368368 www.thelights.org.uk
9 Mar Riverfront Newport 01633 656757 www.newportlive.co.uk
10 Mar Tacchi-Morris Arts Centre Taunton 01823 414141 www.tacchi-morris.com
11 Mar Plough Arts Centre Great Torrington 01805 624624 www.theploughartscentre.org.uk
13 Mar Waterside Theatre Aylesbury 0844 871 7607
14 & 15 Mar Broadway Letchworth 01462 681088 www.broadway-letchworth.com
16 Mar Towngate Theatre Basildon 01268 465 465 www.towngatetheatre.co.uk
17 Mar Trinity Tunbridge Wells 01892 678 678 www.trinitytheatre.net
18 Mar Playhouse Salisbury 01722 320 333 www.salisburyplayhouse.com
21 Mar Opera House Buxton 01298 72190 www.buxtonoperahouse.org.uk
22 Mar Waterside Arts Centre Sale 0161 912 5616 www.watersideartscentre.co.uk
23 Mar Kings Glasgow 0844 871 7648 www.glasgowcomedyfestival.com
25 Mar Brewery Arts Kendal 01539 725133 www.breweryarts.co.uk
26 Mar Forum Barrow 01229 820000 www.theforumbarrow.co.uk
28 Mar – 1 Apr Wilton’s Music Hall London 020 7702 2789 www.wiltons.org.uk
18 Apr Richmond Theatre London 0844 871 7651
21 Apr Alnwick Playhouse Alnwick 01665 510785 www.alnwickplayhouse.co.uk
22 Apr The Junction Goole 01405 763652 www.junctiongoole.co.uk
23 Apr City Varieties Leeds 0113 243 0808 www.cityvarieties.co.uk
2 May The Princess Theatre Torquay 0844 871 3023
4 May Hertford Theatre Hertford 01992 531 500 www.hertfordtheatre.com
5 May The Quarry at St Luke's Bedford 01234 362269 www.quarrytheatre.org.uk
8 May Oxford Playhouse Oxford 01865 305305 www.oxfordplayhouse.com
11 May Subscription Rooms Stroud 01453 760900 www.subscriptionrooms.org.uk
12 May Thornbury Arts Festival Thornbury 07762 717310 www.thornburyartsfestival.com
13 May Stantonbury Theatre Milton Keynes 01908 324422 www.stantonburytheatre.co.uk
16 May The Regent Theatre Stoke-on-Trent 0844 871 7649
17 May Grand Pavilion Porthcawl 01656 815995 www.grandpavilion.co.uk
18 May The Swan Theatre Worcester 01905 611427 www.worcesterlive.co.uk
20 May Grand Opera House York 0844 871 3024
23 May New Victoria Theatre Woking 0844 871 7645
24 May Derby Theatre Derby 01332 59 39 39  www.derbytheatre.co.uk
25 May Leas Cliff Hall Folkestone 0844 871 3015
26 May Devonshire Park Theatre Eastbourne 01323 412000 www.eastbournetheatres.co.uk
28 May Churchill Theatre Bromley 020 3285 6000 www.churchilltheatre.co.uk

Author

Scroll to Top