Home » London Theatre News » The Sheridan Morley prize for Theatre Biography 2015

The Sheridan Morley prize for Theatre Biography 2015

Sheridan Morley
Sheridan Morley

The annual Sheridan Morley Prize for Theatre Biography will be awarded in a ceremony on 2nd March 2016 at The Garrick Club, London. Now in its 9th year, the prize is awarded for the best theatrical biography, autobiography or diary published in the preceding calendar year.

Established in 2008, the Prize is to honour Sheridan Morley’s career as an author who specialised in biographies of actors, directors, and theatre and film personalities, including his own acclaimed memoir, Asking for Trouble. In his lifetime, he wrote 37 books, the majority of which were biographies, amongst them, the authorised lives of Sir John Gielgud, Sir Noel Coward, and David Niven.

The Prize is judged by a distinguished jury of theatrical and literary practitioners and the previous years’ winning author. Chaired by Ruth Leon, this year’s jury is actress Kika Markham who was shortlisted for last year’s award for Our Time of Day: My Life with Corin Redgrave; Benedict Nightingale – former first theatre critic of the Times and journalist; and John Lahr, former principal theatre critic of The New Yorker and last year’s winner for Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh.

The Sheridan Morley Prize for Theatre Biography is a Charitable Trust. It is funded by small donations from individuals and generous support from The Garrick Club which provides the elegant setting for our Awards.

The shortlist will be announced shortly.

Previous recipients of the prize are:
Dominic Dromgoole Shakespeare, Will and Me (2007)
Sir Michael Holroyd A Strange Eventful History (2008)
Andrew McConnell Scott A Pantomime Life of Joseph Grimaldi (2009)
Simon Callow My Life in Pieces (2010)
Stephen Sondheim Look I Made a Hat (2011)
Rupert Everett Vanished Years (2012)
Michael Blakemore Stage Blood (2013)
John Lahr Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh (2014)

Previous juries have included the actors Simon Callow, Nicola McAuliffe, Michael Simkins, Gemma Jones, Isla Blair and Patricia Hodge, and the publishers Ion Trewin and Christopher Sinclair-Stevenson.


  • Neil Cheesman

    First becoming involved in an online theatre business in 2005 and launching londontheatre1.com in September 2013. Neil writes reviews and news articles, and has interviewed over 150 actors and actresses from the West End, Broadway, film, television, and theatre. Follow Neil on Twitter @LondonTheatre1

    View all posts
Scroll to Top