Home » UK Theatres - UK Touring Shows » Lead casting for Dennis & Gnasher The Musical Announced

Lead casting for Dennis & Gnasher The Musical Announced

Rory Maguire will star as Dennis
Rory Maguire as Dennis

British actor Rory Maguire will star as Dennis in Selladoor Family and Beano Studios’ new stage production Dennis & Gnasher The Musical! which opens on 23 January 2020 at the Waterside Theatre in Aylesbury before embarking on a UK tour throughout 2020.

Rory is currently starring as Gerard in American Idiot (UK Tour & New Zealand). His previous theatre credits include Summer Holiday (UK Tour), Thoroughly Modern Millie (Avalon, Canada), Mamma Mia (UK Tour), Peter Pan (Greenwich Theatre & Rickmansworth), George’s Marvellous Medicine (88 London Road, Brighton), Grease (BKL), Ushers (Arts Theatre & Edinburgh Festival), Aladdin (Brighton Emporium) and Shrek (UK Tour).

The musical tells the story of the iconic duo Dennis & Gnasher and along with their best friends, Rubi, JJ and Pieface and their mission to save Beanotown from the grips of the evil W Corps! Featuring live music, hilarious pranks, and of course, Dennis’ trademark skateboard, this brand new, high-octane musical is perfect for pranksters young and old!

The stage production follows on from the success of Beano Studios’ International Emmy-nominated TV series Dennis & Gnasher: Unleashed! The TV show stars Beano’s irrepressible hero Dennis, his dogged side kick Gnasher and fearless mates including Rubi, JJ, Pieface and his pet potato Paul. Together they cook up crazy plans, get in all sorts of scrapes and take on every challenge, no matter how big.

BAFTA-winning writer/producer-director Will Brenton will write and direct the show which will feature Dennis and Gnasher’s imitable sense of fun and ageless humour delivered with a repertoire of songs. The creative team will also include set and costume designer Jean Chan and choreographer Kendra Horsburgh.

Further casting and tour dates to be announced shortly.
DENNIS AND GNASHER UNLEASHED! 2020 TOUR DATES

Thursday 23 – Sunday 26 January Box Office: 0844 871 7607
Aylesbury Waterside Theatre

Tuesday 28 January – Saturday 1 February Box Office: 01262 678258
Bridlington Spa

Tuesday 4 – Saturday 8 February Box Office: 0844 871 3017
Liverpool Empire

Tuesday 18 – Saturday 22 February Box Office: 0844 871 3019
Palace Theatre, Manchester

Tuesday 25 – Saturday 29 February Box Office: 0844 871 3011
Birmingham Alexandra

Tuesday 3 – Saturday 7 March Box Office: 0118 960 6060
Reading Hexagon

Tuesday 10 – Saturday 14 March Box Office: 01684 892277
Malvern Theatres

Tuesday 17 – Saturday 21 March Box Office: 0844 871 7646
New Wimbledon Theatre

Tuesday 24 – Saturday 28 March Box Office: 01271
Queen’s Theatre, Barnstaple

Tuesday 31 March – Saturday 4 April Box Office: 0844 871 7647
Glasgow Theatre Royal

Tuesday 7 – Saturday 11 April Box Office: 01482 300306
Hull New Theatre

Tuesday 14 – Saturday 18 April Box Office: 01904 623568
York Theatre Royal

Tuesday 19 – Saturday 23 May Box Office: 0844 871 3022
Sunderland Empire

Tuesday 26 – Saturday 30 May Box Office: 01902 429212
Wolverhampton Grand Theatre

Wednesday 3 – Sunday 7 June Box Office: 0844 871 3020
New Theatre, Oxford

Tuesday 23 – Saturday 27 June Box Office: 0844 871 7645
New Victoria Theatre, Woking

Wednesday 8 – Sunday 12 July Box Office: 01274 432000
Bradford Alhambra

Tuesday 14 – Saturday 18 July Box Office: 0115 989 5555
Nottingham Theatre Royal

Tuesday 28 July – Saturday 1 August Box Office: 01733 852992
Peterborough New Theatre

Tuesday 11 – Saturday 15 August Box Office: 0844 856 1111
Blackpool Opera House

Further dates to be announced

Author

Scroll to Top