Home » London Theatre News » Cast announced for Sasha Regan’s all-male Iolanthe | UK Tour

Cast announced for Sasha Regan’s all-male Iolanthe | UK Tour

IolantheA dynamic all-male cast have been announced for the return of Sasha Regan’s most critically acclaimed production, Iolanthe – one of Gilbert and Sullivan’s most famous operettas.

Torches flash in the darkness as a party of naughty schoolboys adventure into the magical surroundings of an old theatre. Amid all the backstage paraphernalia they discover a Narnia-like wardrobe and a dusty copy of Gilbert and Sullivan’s Iolanthe. What follows is pure magic!

The exciting cast are: Reece Budin (Matilda the Musical, The Civic in Australia; Man of La Mancha, Seymour Centre; Pacific Overtunes, Theatre Works), Michael Burgen (Spamalot, Playhouse Theatre; All-Male H.M.S. Pinafore, UK Tour; The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe, New Vic Theatre), Richard Carson (Mamma Mia, Novello Theatre; Miss Saigon, Prince Edward Theatre; Wicked, UK and Ireland Tour), Christopher Finn (Alice’s Adventures Underground, The Vaults; Molly Wobbly’s Tit Factory, Leicester Square Theatre; All-Male Iolanthe, Union Theatre and Wilton’s Music Hall), James Gulliford (Salad Days, Theatre Royal Bath; Labyrinth, Hampstead Theatre; Luna Park, Tristan Bates Theatre), Dominic Harbison (Annie Get Your Gun, Union Theatre; Sunset Boulevard, Yvonne Arnaud Theatre; Aladdin, Stratford Arts House), Joe Henry (Cats, UK/International Tour; Miracle on 34 th Street, Madinat Theatre in Dubai; LIFT The Musical, whilst training), Alastair Hill (Dreamboats and Petticoats, UK Tour; Dreamboats and Miniskirts, UK Tour; The Fix, Union Theatre), Jack Hinton (Christmasaurus: Live!, Eventim Hammersmith Apollo; Mamma Mia: Here We Go Again, Universal Pictures), Jamie Jukes (Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat, UK Tour; The Rocky Horror Show, European Tour; All-Male Mikado, UK Tour), Sam Kipling (The Habit or Art, National Theatre; Archibald Craven, whilst training; Bullets Over Broadway, whilst training), Daniel Miles (All-Male Mikado, UK Tour; One Man Two Guvnors, Welsh Tour; Grease, Scandinavia), Benjamin Mundy (Annie, Piccadilly Theatre; Grease, Dubai; Cats, London Palladium), Adam Pettit (The 12 Tenors 10th Anniversary Tour, European Tour; Beauty and the Beast, Palace Theatre in Newark; Out There, Union Theatre), Richard Russell Edwards (All-Male H.M.S. Pinafore, Union Theatre; All-Male Pirates of Penzance, UK Tour; All-Male Mikado, UK Tour) and Duncan Sandilands (Carousel, Barbican; South Pacific, Kilworth House; Thursford Christmas Spectacular, Thursford).

Universally regarded as Sir Arthur Sullivan’s most beautiful score, Iolanthe is a topsy-turvy love story between the most unlikely of couples… fairies and members of the House of Lord’s! Sasha Regan’s inimitable inventiveness combined with Gilbert and Sullivan’s inherent barminess make for an unmissable night out.

Sasha Regan comments, Iolanthe is a beautiful piece to direct and I can’t wait to revisit it after nearly eight years. Mark Smith and I wanted to make a world of elegant and magical fairies so Mark, as a deaf choreographer, has incorporated sign language into all the movement – it’s definitely a challenge for the company to learn but the end result is worth it. This is a hilarious and tender piece that is simply a joy to direct.

When it premiered in 2011 Iolanthe was nominated for numerous Off West End Awards – Best Director, Best Choreographer, Best Production, Best Costume Design and Best Male Performance. Iolanthe broke all box office records on its transfer to Wilton’s Music Hall in 2011.

Sasha Regan’s Iolanthe
Running time 2 hours 25 minutes
Box Office Tickets are available from individual theatre box offices.
Age Guidance 6+

Twitter @allmaleiolanthe
Website http://www.rdww.co.uk/

Director Sasha Regan
Choreographer Mark Smith
Original Design Stewart Charlesworth
Tour Set Design Kingsley Hall
Producers Regan De Wynter Williams
Casting Director Adam Braham
Fairy Queen Richard Russell Edwards
Iolanthe Christopher Finn
Strephon Richard Carson
Celia Dominic Harbison
Leila Jamie Jukes
Phyllis Joe Henry
Private Willis Duncan Sandilands
Lord T Adam Pettit
Lord M Michael Burgen
Chancellor Alastair Hill
Ensemble/Fairy Ben Mundy
Ensemble/Fairy Reece Budin
Ensemble/Fairy Jack Hinton
Ensemble/Lord Daniel Miles
Ensemble/Lord Sam Kipling
Ensemble/Lord James Gulliford

Full details – times and dates


Scroll to Top