Home » London Theatre News » Girl from the North Country cast album announced

Girl from the North Country cast album announced

Girl From The North CountryThe Old Vic and Sony Music Entertainment today announces the release of the Official London Cast Recording of Girl from the North Country. Featuring lyrics and music by Bob Dylan, the album was recorded at the iconic Abbey Road Studios and will be available to buy, download, and stream on 29 September 2017.

Girl from the North Country opened at The Old Vic in July to 5-star reviews and runs until 7 October 2017.

Written and directed by Conor McPherson, Girl from the North Country is aptly set in Bob Dylan’s hometown of Duluth, Minnesota. It’s 1934 and a community who are living on a knife-edge soon huddle together in the local guesthouse. The owner, Nick, owes more money than he can ever repay, his wife Elizabeth is losing her mind and their daughter Marianne is carrying a child no-one will account for. And, when a preacher selling bibles and a boxer looking for a comeback show up in the middle of the night, things start to spiral beyond the point of no return.

The album is available to pre-order now on Amazon.

Brought to life by a 20-piece company of actors and musicians, award-winning playwright Conor McPherson beautifully weaves the iconic songbook of Bob Dylan into this new show full of hope, heartbreak and soul.

Conor McPherson said: “I’m so delighted the brilliant talent of our cast will be captured at Abbey Road Studios. It’s been an honour working with them on Bob Dylan’s incredible songs. The reaction from audiences every night and the clamour for a recording has been overwhelming and is a true testament to their stunning voices.”

Girl from the North Country features songs from every period of Bob Dylan’s catalogue with new musical arrangements by Simon Hale.

Matthew Warchus, Artistic Director of the Old Vic, is searching for a word to describe this type of show – neither bona fide “musical” or typical “play with songs”. It’s a “Dylanesque”, Matthew. It’s bound to set a trend. There will be more Dylanesques – though not necessarily with Bob Dylan’s music. And it will be difficult to replicate the atmosphere and melancholy of Girl From The North Country.
Read our review of Girl from the North Country

1. Sign On The Window
2. Went To See The Gypsy
3. Tight Connection To My Heart
4. Slow Train Coming/License To Kill
5. Ballad Of A Thin Man (Instrumental)
6. I Want You
7. Blind Willie McTell (Instrumental)
8. Like A Rolling Stone/To Make You Feel My Love
9. Like A Rolling Stone (Reprise)/I Want You
10. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere/Jokerman
11. Sweetheart Like You/True Love Tends To Forget
12. Girl From The North Country
13. Hurricane/All Along The Watchtower/Idiot Wind
14. Lay Down Your Weary Tune (Instrumental)
15. Duquesne Whistle/Señor (Tales Of Yankee Power)/Is Your Love In Vain?/License To Kill
16. Tight Connection To My Heart (Underscore/Reprise)
17. Lay Lady Lay (Instrumental)/Jokerman (Reprise)/Clair De Lune
18. Forever Young
19. My Back Pages

Writer & Director Conor McPherson
Music & Lyrics Bob Dylan
Designer Rae Smith
Orchestrator, Arrangements & Musical Supervisor Simon Hale
Lighting Mark Henderson
Sound Simon Baker
Musical Director Alan Berry
Movement Director Lucy Hind

Casting Director Jessica Ronane CDG
Associate Director Joe Murphy
Baylis Assistant Director Jessica Daniels

Full cast for Girl from the North Country featured on the album includes: Sheila Atim (Marianne Laine), Ron Cook (Doctor Walker), Bronagh Gallagher (Mrs Burke), Shirley Henderson (Elizabeth Laine), Ciarán Hinds (Nick Laine), Claudia Jolly (Katherine Draper), Arinzé Kene (Joe Scott), Debbie Kurup (Mrs Neilsen), Kirsty Malpass (Ensemble), Jim Norton (Mr Perry), Tom Peters (Ensemble), Karl Queensborough (Ensemble), Sam Reid (Gene Laine), Michael Shaeffer (Reverend Marlowe), Jack Shalloo (Elias Burke), and Stanley Townsend (Mr Burke).
Musicians include: Alan Berry (piano and harmonium), Charlie Brown (violin and mandolin), Pete Callard (resonator and acoustic guitar) and Don Richardson (bass).

Booking Period: Until 7 October 2017
The Old Vic
103 The Cut, London, SE1 8NB


Scroll to Top