Home » Theatre News » John Barrowman to feature on Maddie 20th Anniversary deluxe Edition

John Barrowman to feature on Maddie 20th Anniversary deluxe Edition

Maddie cast recordingStage Door Records announce a 2 CD Deluxe Edition issue of the ‘Maddie’ Original London Cast Recording will be released on October 14th, 2016. The album features 5 previously unreleased 1991 recordings by John Barrowman alongside a host of top West End performers. The CD release celebrates the 20th Anniversary of ‘Maddie’ and continues Stage Door’s commitment to preserve ‘lost’ British theatre scores of the past 50 years.

‘Maddie’ opened at London’s Lyric Theatre on September 29th 1997 – the musical which had been in development for nearly 8 years was based on the Jack Finney novel ‘Marion’s Wall’ (adapted as the 1986 film ‘Maxie’) and featured music by Stephen Keeling, lyrics by Shaun McKenna and book by McKenna and Steven Dexter.

The musical tells the story of Nick and Jan Cheyney who have recently moved into a dilapidated attic apartment in downtown San Francisco. Beneath the peeling wallpaper, they are amazed to uncover a message scrawled in lipstick by 1920s dancer Madeline Marsh. Fascinated by the discovery, they are unprepared for the return of its ghostly author still desperate to become a movie star.

‘Maddie’ was developed during the prestigious Stephen Sondheim Masterclass at Oxford University in 1990. After numerous workshops producer Kenny Wax premiered ‘Maddie’ at the Salisbury Playhouse on September 5th 1996. After achieving critical acclaim in Salisbury, the production transferred to London’s Lyric Theatre the following year starring Graham Bickley, Summer Rognlie, Kevin Colson and Lynda Baron.

To mark the 20th anniversary of ‘Maddie’ premiering at the Salibsury Playhouse, Stage Door are pleased to present a 2 Disc Deluxe Edition presentation of the Original London Cast Album. Featuring 3 new 2016 recordings (performed by Meredith Braun, Dominic Hodson, Moir Leslie and Alister Cameron) plus a bonus disc with 25 previously unreleased studio demos of cut songs and alternate versions performed by an illustrious roster of West End stars including John Barrowman, Jacqui Scott, Jonny Rees, Lorna Dallas, John Barr, Angela Richards, Hal Fowler and Teddy Kempner.

Speaking of the new Deluxe Edition Cast Album, original ‘Maddie’ producer Kenny Wax commented:
“I’m thrilled that this new CD of songs from ‘Maddie’ has a chance to breathe a new lease of life into the old girl. Like it’s main protagonist Madeline Marsh, I’m sure that one day she will be re-born and come back to entertain a whole new generation.”

01. OVERTURE – The Band
02. DON’T LOOK BACK – Graham Bickley, Summer Rognlie
03. MADDIE DANCING – Kevin Colson
04. GHOST – Graham Bickley
05. I’LL FIND TIME FOR YOU – Summer Rognlie
06. EASY – Summer Rognlie, Graham Bickley
07. TIME OF MY LIFE – Summer Rognlie, Kevin Colson
08. DON’T LOOK BACK (Reprise) – Summer Rognlie, Graham Bickley
09. STAR – Summer Rognlie
10. ENTR’ACTE – The Band
11. ONE MORE DAY – Summer Rognlie, Kevin Colson
12. I’VE ALWAYS KNOWN – Summer Rognlie
13. FROM NOW ON – Summer Rognlie
14. AFRAID – Graham Bickley
15. STAR (Reprise) – Lynda Baron
16. AT THE GATES – Lynda Baron, Summer Rognlie, Graham Bickley, Kevin Colson
17. IF NOT FOR ME – Lynda Baron
18. FINALE 1 – Summer Rognlie, Kevin Colson
19. FINALE 2 – Graham Bickley, Summer Rognlie

20. FEELING THIS WAY WITH YOU – Dominic Hodson
21. MAYBE WE SHOULD MARRY – Moir Leslie, Alister Cameron
22. THERE WE WERE – Meredith Braun

01. IN HOLLYWOOD – Helen Hobson, Ensemble
02. HOW IN THE WORLD – John Barrowman, Jacqui Scott
03. MADDIE DANCING – Teddy Kempner
04. ELIGIBLE MEN (Quartet) – Jacqui Scott, Joanna Monro, John Barrowman, Mary Millar
05. GHOST – John Barr
06. THE SCHMOOZE – Lorna Dallas, Ensemble
07. TIME AFTER TIME – Jacqui Scott
08. TIME OF MY LIFE – Jacqui Scott, Teddy Kempner
09. NEVER GONNA SPEAK TO HIM AGAIN – Jacqui Scott, Joanna Monro
10. DON’T LOOK BACK (Original Version) – Summer Rognlie, John Barr
11. STAR – Jacqui Scott
12. HAVE YOU SEEN MY WIFE? Hal Fowler, Ensemble
13. ONE MORE DAY – Summer Rognlie, Kevin Colson
14. I’VE ALWAYS KNOWN (Original Version) – Jacqui Scott
15. AFRAID – John Barrowman
16. ELIGIBLE MEN / STAR (Reprise) – Mary Millar, John Barrowman
17. EVERYTHING YOU WANT – Philip Cox, Ensemble
18. IF NOT FOR ME – Mary Millar
19. FINALE 1 – Jacqui Scott, Teddy Kempner
20. FINALE 2 – Jacqui Scott, John Barrowman

21. AS WE WERE – Matt Zimmerman
22. AFRAID – Jonny Rees
23. IF NOT FOR ME (Original Version) – Lorna Dallas
24. IF NOT FOR ME (Revised Version) – Angela Richards
25. FINALE 2 – Summer Rognlie, John Barr


Scroll to Top