Home » London Theatre News » Casting announced for West End transfer of This House

Casting announced for West End transfer of This House

This HouseThis country is being kept alive on aspirin when what it needs is electric bloody shock therapy.
Casting has been announced for the West End transfer of James Graham’s critically acclaimed political drama This House. Phil Daniels, Kevin Doyle, David Hounslow, Ed Hughes, Lauren O’Neil, Nathaniel Parker, Steffan Rhodri, Malcolm Sinclair and Sarah Woodward lead the cast which also includes Christopher Godwin, Peter Landi, Matthew Pigeon, Giles Taylor, Tony Turner and Orlando Wells.

This House will transfer to the Garrick Theatre, following its upcoming run at Chichester’s Minerva Theatre. Having originally played two sell-out seasons at the National Theatre, directed by Headlong Artistic Director Jeremy Herrin, This House opens for previews on 19 November, with a press night on Wednesday 30th November 2016.

1974. The UK faces economic crisis and a hung parliament. In a culture hostile to cooperation, it’s a period when votes are won or lost by one, when there are fist fights in the bars and when sick MPs are carried through the lobby to register their vote. It’s a time when a staggering number of politicians die, and the building creaks under idiosyncrasies and arcane traditions.

Set in the engine rooms of Westminster, James Graham’s This House strips politics down to the practical realities of those behind the scenes: the whips who roll up theirsleeves and on occasion bend the rules to shepherd and coerce a diverse chorus of MPs within the Mother of all Parliaments.

Rae Smith’s design neatly installs the House of Commons into the Garrick Theatre including some seating on those famous benches for the audience.

Writer James Graham
Director Jeremy Herrin
Designer Rae Smith
Lighting Designer Paule Constable
Choreographer Scott Ambler
Music Stephen Warbeck
Sound Designer Ian Dickinson

Cast includes: Phil Daniels (Bob Mellish), Kevin Doyle (Michael Cocks), David Hounslow (Joe Harper), Ed Hughes (Fred Silvester), Lauren O’Neil (Ann Taylor), Nathaniel Parker (Jack Weatherill), Steffan Rhodri (Walter Harrison), Malcolm Sinclair(Humphrey Atkins) and Sarah Woodward (Lady Batley) with Christopher Godwin, Peter Landi, Matthew Pigeon, Giles Taylor, Tony Turner and Orlando Wells.

Produced by Nica Burns, Caro Newling for Neal Street Productions and Headlong in association with Jonathan Church Productions and Gavin Kalin Productions.

A National Theatre and Chichester Festival Theatre production.

Buy London Theatre Tickets

Running Time: 2 Hours 55 Minutes
Age Restrictions: Suitable for ages 14+
Booking From: 19th Nov 2016
Booking Until: 25th Feb 2017

Garrick Theatre
2 Charing Cross Road
London WC2H 0HH


Scroll to Top