Home » London Theatre News » The Critics’ Circle Awards 2016 Winners

The Critics’ Circle Awards 2016 Winners

Glenda Jackson
Glenda Jackson – Photo Credit Peter Jones

The Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards 2016 were hosted today, Tuesday 31st January 2017, by the Critics’ Circle Drama Section Chairman Mark Shenton, at the Prince of Wales Theatre, London.

The Awards were presented in association with Nyman Libson Paul Chartered Accountants, leading entertainment industry specialists, and supported by Delfont Mackintosh Theatres.

As ever, the ceremony was an informal gathering of award recipients, the drama critics, theatre practitioners and the media, convivially coming together to celebrate the critics’ personal choice of the best theatre from throughout the UK during the last calendar year.

Comedian Arthur Smith introduced proceedings with his own inimitable style, as has become a well-loved tradition. And, for the first time, the exclusive invited audience also enjoyed a sneak-peek performance of new Gary Barlow and Tim Firth musical The Girls, which is currently in previews at the West End’s Phoenix Theatre, where it officially opens on 21st February and will be eligible for next year’s awards. Today, star Joanna Riding performed “Scarborough”, accompanied by Tim Firth.
For a list of previous years’ winners, visit criticscircletheatreawards.com.


Best New Play: The Flick by Annie Baker
The National Theatre, London
award presented to Jaygann Ayeh by Georgina Brown, The Mail on Sunday

The Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical [new or revival]: Groundhog Day
Old Vic, London
award presented to Kate Varah and Andre Ptaszynski by Dominic Cavendish, Daily Telegraph

Best Actor: Stephen Dillane in Faith Healer
Donmar Warehouse, London
award presented to Stephen Dillane by John Nathan, The Jewish Chronicle

Best Actress: Billie Piper in Yerma
Young Vic, London
award presented to Billie Piper by Henry Hitchings, Evening Standard

The Trewin Award for Best Shakespearean Performance: Glenda Jackson in King Lear
Old Vic, London
award presented to Glenda Jackson by Susannah Clapp, The Observer

Best Director: John Tiffany for Harry Potter & The Cursed Child
Palace Theatre, London
award presented to John Tiffany by Sarah Hemming, The Financial Times

Best Designer: Christine Jones for Harry Potter & The Cursed Child
Palace Theatre, London
award presented to John Tiffany by Michael Billington, The Guardian

Most Promising Playwright: Charlene James for Cuttin’ It
Young Vic, Royal Court & The Yard Theatres, London, Birmingham Rep & Sheffield Crucible
award presented to Charlene James by Lyn Gardner, The Guardian

The Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer [other than a playwright]: Anthony Boyle in Harry Potter and The Cursed Child
Palace Theatre, London
award presented to Anthony Boyle by Dominic Maxwell, The Times

Since the Awards’ inception in 1989 the theatre critics, consisting entirely of respected and influential working journalists, have prided themselves on offering something unique on the packed theatre awards circuit: each member of the Drama Section independently casts their vote based on personal choice, free of any discussion or industry influence, ensuring a highly democratic voting process.


Scroll to Top